Faculty & Facilities

Our faculty are an international assembly of practicing artists and curators. We converge on campus twice a year, where all of the resources and labs of the school are available to students.

Department Chair

Aeron Bergman

Chair, Low-Residency MFA in Visual Studies


MA, New York University [Studio Art]
MA, from University of Toronto [Art History]
BA, Michigan State University [Art History]

Aeron Bergman (born Detroit, USA) works as an artist-duo with Alejandra Salinas (born La Rioja, Spain), and the pair founded the artist-run space Institute for New Connotative Action: INCA and the independent art publisher INCA Press. They have lived in New York, Toronto, Detroit, London, Barcelona, Gothenburg, Oslo, Seattle, and are currently based in Portland.

Aeron Bergman was a head professor at the Oslo National Academy of the Arts 2007-2013, professor and advisor in the Nordic Sound Art low residency MA 2007-2013, and supervisor of the National Norwegian Artistic Research Fellowship 2007-2013. Bergman has been visiting professor in several institutions including the International Academy of Art Palestine in Ramallah, the Art Academy in Umeå, Sweden, and the Trondheim Academy of Art, Norway. He was Senior Artist-in-Residence at the University of Washington, Bothell 2013-2017.

Bergman and Salinas have shown work internationally at institutions such as the 4th Athens Biennale; 1st Bergen Assembly Triennial; 2007 Turku Biennial; 1st Struer Tracks Sound Art Biennial; Steirischer Herbst 2013, Graz; Fundação de Serralves, Porto; Eastside Projects, Birmingham, UK; Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Vienna; ICC Tokyo; IASPIS, Stockholm; Lincoln Center and DAC in New York City; e-flux and Berlin Film Festival in Berlin; Center for Contemporary Art Glasgow; Edinburgh Film Festival and Dundee Contemporary Art in Scotland; MOCA Novi Sad; Taipei Fine Art Museum; Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven; Centre George Pompidou and Palais de Tokyo in Paris; IMO and Nikolaj Kunsthal in Copenhagen; Henie Onstad Art Center, Kunstnernes Hus and 0047 in Oslo, MUDAM Luxembourg; Ruler and HIAP in Helsinki; The Luminary, St Louis, and the Ski Club, Milwaukee among many others.

Their sound art has been broadcast on radio such as the BBC and Resonance FM, in London; WDR Cologne; R2 Madrid; SV2 Stockholm; Radio France; CBC Canada; WFMU New York; and Taipei Philharmonic Radio. The pair won an award of distinction in digital music at the Prix Ars Electronica in Linz, Austria.

Read More

Faculty and Visiting Faculty

Program Mentors

  • Crystal Schenk
  • Otto Von Busch
  • Anna Sew Hoy
  • Bobbi Woods
  • Patricia Margarita Hernández
  • Natalia Zuluaga
  • Domingo Castillo
  • Sondra Perry
  • Alberto Aguilar
  • Chloë Bass
  • Corin Hewitt
  • Michael Jones Mckean
  • Jessica Jackson Hutchins
  • Young-Hae Chang Heavy Industries
  • Diego Bruno
  • Henrik Andersson
  • Florian Zeyfang
  • Lina Persson
  • Mikko Kuorinki
  • Max Jorge Hinderer Cruz
  • Biquini Wax
  • Ruth Estévez
  • Roger Fernandes
  • Ruth Noack
  • Kyung Me
  • Maricel Alvarez
  • John Riepenhoff
  • + MORE

Facilities Highlight

Sculpture Studios

The Sculpture Studios house a plaster and slip cast mold making facility, a welding and metal working area, and extensive woodshop with lathes, a ceramic studio, glass kilns for fusing and slumping, and tools supporting soft sculpture.

Print Studio

The Print Studio supports lithography, letterpress, book making, relief, monotype, intaglio, screenprinting in a studio filled with natural light. Tea time is at 3pm every day.


In Make+Think+Code, you can learn about and explore emerging technologies, augmented and virtual reality, (digital) fabrication and prototyping, creative coding, data science, systems-thinking, the internet of things and smart technologies, creative entrepreneurship, STEAM, and privacy and security.

Get in Touch

To learn more about all of the facilities available to you or for more information about the Low-Residency MFA in Visual Studies program, get in touch with program Chair, Aeron Bergman.

Get in Touch